Well, since getting back from the UK the weather has been what can only described as variable…..Snow, Wind, Rain and 32 degrees sun! I have been rather selective in my rides, choosing the best weather windows -Either snow or 32 degrees it seems! Rubbish, I get out and it pours down after two turns of the pedals, or suddenly the clouds disperse and the sun has blazed down on me….Turning my legs into something similiar to the tan lines sported in the GIro….Farmers tan I prefer to call it!
I have been going up most days, Champéry is stuck at the end of a steep sided valley, so its really up or down, if you go down first you only have to pedal back up again…I prefer the up first! The climbs are listed on my Map my Ride routes as H or H1 these make roadies tackling the Tour du France huff and puff abit too! I would like to stay I spin out with some finesse, alas there is a lot of sweating, huffing, puffing and granny ring grinding in a search for an ever easier gear! I fear I will never be able to ascend with ease or any speed. Clients may have to rest at the summit and wait for me to arrive…I will always have a smile though!

Today its pouring down, so I am catching up on admin things, hoping that it will stop and I can get out at some point. The bikes are all being swapped to Rock Shox, Sram, Avid components in the next few days. I have Lyrics for the RM Slayer and World Cup Boxxers for the Flatline. New SRAM X-O 10 speed gears and Avid Elixir CR brakes for both bikes. Cannot wait to test them out this weekend in Les Gets. I plan to stay with Flow MTB in Morzine and spend two or three days really getting the bikes dialled in for the season. There are so many new tracks over there, its going to be an ideal opportunity to also scope new routes for my clients and guiding generally. Morgins is also open, although with this rain, I fear inside the forest maybe a little greasy for a first outing! They have also just built a Junior park for kids which sounds fantastic.

I am planning a short trip to Finale Ligura in Italy next week. I should take the bikes, but am going for some pre season R&R and climbing. Then the season starts and the first race in La Bresse on the 17th its the Nissan European Downhill Cup, and great prep for the World Cup there in a couple of months. I can see how far I am off the pace and whether its worth chasing UCI points to compete in Val di Sole and La Bresse. I then have two weeks guiding XC and then off to the Megavalanche in Alpe D`Huez. I should have the fitness and am hoping to get a good result there.

So, better get a wriggle on and unpack the wet ride gear… Looks like no let up in the rain just yet!

Happy riding wherever you are…Thanks Chris Sports, SRAM, Rukkus, MuleBar, Buff, BN3,Boutique 90 Champery, Silverfish UK, Sealskinz

